0116 251 0606

Grade listed buildings

Listing a building recognises its special architectural and historic interest; it also brings the building into consideration of the planning system so it is protected for future generations. With this, grade listed buildings are subject to specific regulations which protect their historical and architectural significance.

As recently we have moved into new offices that are Grade II listed, we felt it beneficial to provide more knowledge on what is involved with Grade listed buildings.

This heritage protection means that you will need consent to make alterations to the building. With around 400,000 listed buildings in England, being aware of these regulations can help you plan when buying a house or commercial building.

For a building to be qualified as listed, it needs to illustrate important aspects of the nation’s economic, cultural, historical associations with nationally important people. Many buildings built before 1700 that survive in anything like their original condition is very likely to be listed; the same goes for buildings between 1850 and 1700. However, after 1945 buildings are carefully selected, and buildings less than 30 years old are not usually considered.

Listing the building not only protects the outside structure but inside as well. This includes any structures that are attached – including modern extensions and sometimes outbuildings, statuary within the garden and the garden walls.

There are three different types of grading for buildings, which are:

Grade I

These buildings are of exceptional national, historical and architectural importance; only 2.5% of listed buildings fall into this category, including Buckingham Palace and Tower Bridge.

Grade II

These buildings are split into two categories – Grade II and Grade II*. Around 5.5% of buildings are Grade II* which are particularly important, with 92% of buildings listed as Grade II and of special architectural interest. Any building built before 1948 can be listed; Most residential homes are listed within the Grade II category. In England, there are approximately 276,000 listed building entries that amount to over 500,000 listed buildings.

Examples of Grade II* listed buildings are Capel Manor House in Kent, the Coliseum Theatre in London and the Middlesbrough Transporter Bridge; in England. Grade II buildings include Abbey Road Studios in London; Whitechapel Bell Foundry in London and the Broomhill Pool in Ipswich.

In Leicester, there are many listed buildings, including St Martin’s Cathedral, Town Hall, Wyggeston House and Newarke Wall.

Share Article

Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter

Talk to an expert

See More Recent Posts

RIBA 2030 Climate Challenge

RIBA 2030 Climate Challenge

Design Studio Architects are committed to making a change and ensuring our design approach is based on...

Read More

What to consider when choosing an architect for a new build project

What to consider when choosing an architect for a new build project

When it comes to building your new home, it’s always best to do your homework and research not only the type of...

Read More

DSA Nominated for the ProCon Leicestershire Awards 20-21!

DSA Nominated for the ProCon Leicestershire Awards 20-21!

We’re delighted to announce that our bespoke new build home, ‘Opulence House’ has been nominated for the ProCon...

Read More

We use cookies to give you the best experience. For more information please visit our Privacy Policy